Only Cub Cadets

PLEASE PATRONIZE OUR SPONSORS!

CC Speciaalties R. F. Houtz and Sons

Patton Acres IH Cub Cadet Parts

Cub Cadet Parts & Service

If you would like to help maintain this site & enhance it, feel free to donate whatever amount you would like to!

Attention Folks we have a new owner!
Greg Rozar AKA- CubDieselFan

Go Back   Only Cub Cadets > Cub Cadets > Implements and Attachments

Notices

Old 08-19-2018, 08:10 AM
Grand Member

Default 50C doesn't mow very "clean"

The 50C on my 1811 doesn't leave the nicest looking yard. I have been running for 2 years with the Gators that came on it. Yesterday after mowing some bigger grass I decided it was time to put on the new set of conventional blades I had in stock. The Gators had gotten really dull and were leaving thick spots uncut, really loading the engine even. Swapped the blades out and headed for some better maintained grass--my yard instead of around farm buildings. These cut fine, but leave a small row of clippings between the discharge and middle blade, like the discharge blade cant handle the volume. Anybody else have trouble with a 50C not mowing as pretty as 60"Habans or 44? Next week I may wake up the 128 with a 44 deck to see how it does (its been napping since fall). For the record, the baffle is still around the blades, the discharge chute has been removed, The engine is running plenty fast enough (close to full if not all the way), and no I'm not driving too fast.
124 w/hydraulic lift
782 w/mounted sprayer
2284 w/54" mowing deck
Old 08-19-2018, 08:30 AM
Administrator

I run a 50C deck on my 784 and the thing I noticed over the years is how sharp the blades are. When they start to dull, the quality of the cut goes down. It is a signal for me to pull the deck, sharpen the blades and clean up any residue clinging to the underside. Running the engine at WOT is a must.

CC Models: 100, 105, 1450, 782, (2) 784, & 2072

Buy: Made in the USA
Old 08-19-2018, 09:00 AM
Grand Member

Quote: