Only Cub Cadets

PLEASE PATRONIZE OUR SPONSORS!

CC Specialties R. F. Houtz and Sons Jeff in Pa.

Cub Cadet Parts & Service

If you would like to help maintain this site & enhance it, feel free to donate whatever amount you would like to!

Attention Folks we have a new owner!
Greg Rozar AKA- CubDieselFan

Go Back   Only Cub Cadets > Cub Cadets > IH Cub Cadet Tractors (GT)

Notices

Old 12-03-2021, 03:32 AM

Default Cub Cadet 105 Hydrostatic Resto

Paralell to working on my 128 resto, I found this 1968 105 Hydrostatic on an ad here in Sweden, and just had to have it.
This one is pretty worn but complete and supposedly ran when parked in the 1980s.

The engine turns over nicely when I run a direct 12V from the battery to the starter.

I thought i will make a thread working on this little tractor as well, since I'm still new to these I appreciate all input I can get.

Some back story!

This Cub was bought by a scrapyard owner in 1968 at HI WAY GARAGE in Newfield New Jersey (anyone know about this place? Doesn't seem to exist today.) and used it up until the 80s.
Then he got a good deal on a new Cub Cadet and parked this one in the back of a garage at the scrapyard were it sat untouched until 2013.

In 2013 two friends from Sweden went to the US with a shipping container to buy car parts and one of them noticed this Cub sitting in the back shop and asked if he could buy it, and he could.

So as the second owner he brought the Cub with him to Sweden in the shipping container and stored it in his garage for 8 years before i bought it.
So now im the 3rd owner of this little tractor! Kind of like to think about how it made its journey from New Jersey to little rural Mellansel in the north of Sweden, bet nobody would believe that when it was brand new in 1968!

Anyway, i started off by getting a new battery for it and noticed it wont crank via the key, but when i route a cable directly from the positive terminal to the starter it cranks, although a bit slowly i think.