Only Cub Cadets

PLEASE PATRONIZE OUR SPONSORS!

CC Speciaalties R. F. Houtz and Sons

Patton Acres IH Cub Cadet Parts

Cub Cadet Parts & Service

If you would like to help maintain this site & enhance it, feel free to donate whatever amount you would like to!

Attention Folks we have a new owner!
Greg Rozar AKA- CubDieselFan

Go Back   Only Cub Cadets > Cub Cadets > Cub Cadet Engines > Kubota Engines

Notices

Old 03-10-2019, 06:06 PM

Default D600 Cranking but not firing

Hi everyone, I'm no stranger to gas engines, but I'm relatively new to diesels. I have a Kubota D600 and it would start right up and a idle and mid throttle it would start immediately and run great with no smoke or misfiring. At high RPM's it would miss and smoke. I ran it for a little while and then all of a sudden it puffs some black smoke and it smoothed right out and ran perfect. I idled it down and it ran perfect at idle, mid throttle, and then perfect at high RPM......it sounded great and was smooth as could be with no smoke, and it ran very powerfully. I was thrilled......until about a minute later when it died out.

Now I go to start it and it cranks and cranks and then tries to fire and puffs a little smoke, cranks and cranks, and then tries to fire, puffs a little smoke, but it will not run. It almost seems like it is only firing on one cylinder, but I have no idea. Could you diesel folks please help me out on what to look at as far as diagnosing this goes? I pulled the fuel line and I can tell that the fuel pump by the tank is spitting fuel up to the injector pump just fine, but it seems like something is going on with the injectors or the injector pump, but I don't know how to go about diagnosing this. Thanks in advance for your help everyone.
Old 03-10-2019, 07:07 PM
Grand Member

Step one. Make sure your getting fuel to both cylinders. crack open the lines at injectors and visually see fuel spitting out when cranking.. When was the last fuel filter change done?