Only Cub Cadets

PLEASE PATRONIZE OUR SPONSORS!

CC Speciaalties R. F. Houtz and Sons

Patton Acres IH Cub Cadet Parts

Cub Cadet Parts & Service

If you would like to help maintain this site & enhance it, feel free to donate whatever amount you would like to!

Attention Folks we have a new owner!
Greg Rozar AKA- CubDieselFan

Go Back   Only Cub Cadets > Cub Cadets > Implements and Attachments

Notices

Old 08-17-2021, 11:57 AM

Default First deck removal for belt/pulley replacement

Few questions, forgive if they are common as a brief search didnt come up with anything specific enough for me.

1. XT1 46" rider...100hrs

2. Last mow I heard a pretty significant "bearing going out" sound when the belt was engaged, figured its either an idler or the belt needs replacing and since I've got no history on the first 50 hours of this mower before I purchased it. It wouldnt kill me to take the deck off and take a look. I am not a mower expert, but I rebuild old trucks and it certainly gave the impression of a "metal on metal" sort of sound that only manifested with the blades engaged.

3. The deck removal was cake, but I found that despite me deliberately hosing out the outer pulley covers, the insides of that area were complete covered in what could be best described as highly packed in compost. Clearly my efforts at hosing off/out the deck made little to no effort on the deep insides of the covers. Can these just be left off? I realize they are likely a safety item, but if its going to prematurely wear down belts and those expensive blade shafts, ill happily keep them off or cut them down to nothing where its more of a skeleton than a solid frame etc.