Only Cub Cadets

PLEASE PATRONIZE OUR SPONSORS!

CC Specialties R. F. Houtz and Sons Jeff in Pa.

Cub Cadet Parts & Service

If you would like to help maintain this site & enhance it, feel free to donate whatever amount you would like to!

Attention Folks we have a new owner!
Greg Rozar AKA- CubDieselFan

Go Back   Only Cub Cadets > Cub Cadets > Cub Cadet Engines > Kohler Engines

Notices

Old 03-28-2021, 01:20 AM

Default M18 Overheated

I am looking at a 1810, with the M18 and owner admitted it overheated and it was his fault for not running WOT when cutting grass.

So I have a question for the masses.
Grass packed in on the bottom of side panels, not pulling in enough air, engine overheated and shut off. So now it won't start,
very low compression is what he said. I'm new to these little motors so my brain goes straight to V8 thinking, which is why I"m asking
the question. Besides the obvious to me, V8 brain. So both cylinders are low. So both head gaskets blow at the same time? not buying that but... Warped heads, again... both same time? he thought it might be the jugs/cylinders warped/deformed/egg shape. I would guess if it melted the pistons, it would most likely show aluminum on the plugs, but I guess they could have just deformed/not so round anymore? So my main brain block, is both cylinders are low. I guess one thing could've happened to one side, then another problem on the other side.
It's priced right, one owner, kept inside, a lot of the service done at a Cub Dealer, he did minor things, oil change and plugs,etc. It's in very nice shape.
What say you on the possible engine low compression problem.
I told him I would give him an answer about buying it by Sunday night, as he wants to put it up for sale. I have so many things to work on, just not sure I want to take this on. The whole motor could be nothing but a boat anchor.
And parting it out, is not something I would do, don't like to see the old iron become "Dust In The Wind"

Thanks much, Bryan