Only Cub Cadets

PLEASE PATRONIZE OUR SPONSORS!

CC Specialties R. F. Houtz and Sons Jeff in Pa.

Cub Cadet Parts & Service

If you would like to help maintain this site & enhance it, feel free to donate whatever amount you would like to!

Attention Folks we have a new owner!
Greg Rozar AKA- CubDieselFan

Go Back   Only Cub Cadets > Cub Cadets > CCC/MTD Cub Cadet built Tractors (GT)

Notices

Old 04-06-2019, 05:42 PM

Default 2518 Carburetor Problem

I need everyone’s help with carburetor issues. Let me start by saying that I am not a mechanic and know nothing about carburetors. So, I have a 2185 and 2518 both with the CH18-S engine with Keihin 24 053 carburetor. I’m actually working with the 2518 mower but have tried both carburetors numerous times with very limited success. The first thing I did was remove and clean the fuel tank and replace all the fuel line and the filter before ever attempting to start the engine. The engine would not start so I pulled the carburetor and after watching several YouTube videos checked the solenoid which was stuck. I sprayed it with carb cleaner and eventually got it where it would operate properly but engine still would not start. I took the carb back off and opened it up. It was full of gunk so I sprayed it with cleaner and tried to clean out all the little passages and the bowl. I reinstalled it and after that it would run but not very well. I ordered a couple cheap rebuild kits off the internet and replaced the float needle valve, idle needle and spring, numerous o-rings, and the gasket. Reinstalled the carb and the engine would start and run but didn’t idle very well. It did run reasonably well and I made several circles around the yard with it but just wasn’t satisfied with the idle. So, I went back into the carb to see if maybe I missed some little something. Well, I’ve been back in that carb (and the carb off the 2185 which pretty much went through the same stages of rebuild) now numerous times and the engine runs worse al