Only Cub Cadets

PLEASE PATRONIZE OUR SPONSORS!

CC Specialties R. F. Houtz and Sons Jeff in Pa.

Cub Cadet Parts & Service

If you would like to help maintain this site & enhance it, feel free to donate whatever amount you would like to!

Attention Folks we have a new owner!
Greg Rozar AKA- CubDieselFan

Go Back   Only Cub Cadets > Cub Cadets > IH Cub Cadet Tractors (GT)

Notices

Old 05-17-2021, 05:40 PM

Default Papa's Original

Greetings everyone,

So here is an update. I still want to get Papa's Original (9539) running. Mr, Houtz is the only shop to ever work on it. Last time I was at his shop he told me it needed a short block and it wasn't worth fixing. He has retired (well earned) as have I. So now I have time to work on the machine. I am a retired Paramedic (20 years) and Retired Emergency Management Agency Chief (38 years). I am not a gearhead.

So after calling around I found a new shortblock for the K-161. It had just been installed on a CC-71. I got the entire (running) machine for less then $300.00. I have been using it around the property until I have time to start taking both machines apart and get my CC-O running.

Spark plug flew out of the CC-71 last week, had a coil insert on it. Bought new insert and plug, blue locktight and back together. started right up 24 hours later and ran for 5-10 minutes before the plug and coil insert flew out. More blue locktight, re-assemble, 24 hours wait, ran 5 minutes, flew out again. So, re-assemble with red locktight, wait 24 hours, flew out in 5 minutes.

So I think it is time to do the tear down of both K-161's and get the original running.

Any suggestions for a guy willing to try to do something he knows nothing about?

Thanks from Northern Illinois.
Old 05-17-2021, 08:22 PM
Grand Member

Welcome!

Well, you can get another head for the one with the wallered out spark plug hole without a great deal of money.