Only Cub Cadets

Only Cub Cadets (https://www.onlycubcadets.net/forum/index.php)
-   Tractor pullers using Cub Cadets! (https://www.onlycubcadets.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   IH standard Transmission Questions (https://www.onlycubcadets.net/forum/showthread.php?t=53500)

Dlittle1 10-02-2018 07:28 AM

IH standard Transmission Questions

Hey guys, I have a Cub Cadet 149 that I have been pulling with for 3 years. I have a standard rear in it because we had too many issues with the hydro, that is not what Im here for though. I was wondering if you can shim the gears so that normally only the drive tire spins but when it comes under a load like when pulling both tires spin, and if this is possible can you guys tell me how to do it? I am asking because I pull in CT and there is a pulling team here that wins every pull and my friends and I are almost positive they have locked rears. When we asked they said they shimmed the gears so here I am asking if its possible to do that.

cooperino 10-02-2018 07:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dlittle1 (Post 468163)
Hey guys, I have a Cub Cadet 149 that I have been pulling with for 3 years. I have a standard rear in it because we had too many issues with the hydro, that is not what Im here for though. I was wondering if you can shim the gears so that normally only the drive tire spins but when it comes under a load like when pulling both tires spin, and if this is possible can you guys tell me how to do it? I am asking because I pull in CT and there is a pulling team here that wins every pull and my friends and I are almost positive they have locked rears. When we asked they said they shimmed the gears so here I am asking if its possible to do that.

Yup. Shimming spider gears will work. Its not truly locked like this but it will work both rear wheels this way.

Sorry.. I had no idea about this guy.. Tim clued me in.. I thought it was just a bad link

J-Mech 10-02-2018 08:42 AM