Only Cub Cadets

Only Cub Cadets (https://www.onlycubcadets.net/forum/index.php)
-   General Talk (https://www.onlycubcadets.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Cub Low Boy 154 Clutch Issue (https://www.onlycubcadets.net/forum/showthread.php?t=46135)

cgmiller 10-03-2016 04:22 PM

Cub Low Boy 154 Clutch Issue

Hello Folks,

I just picked up a sweet Cub Low Boy 154 Friday night. It has an issue with the clutch. It pops out of gear when in 1st or reverse unless the throttle is pushed way up. You cant get the tranny into gear unless the throttle is dropped way down (if that normal) and then unless you are holding the lever it pops out of gear immediately. Not an issue in 2nd or 3rd gear. I tried mowing a little Saturday afternoon (in the rain) before I put it in the barn and she did not seem to like going up hill in 2nd gear and would start to bog down..now this is my first time with an actual piece of machinery with a clutch and gears since I have a stick shift car 35 years ago. Thanks for the info~!o

Sam Mac 10-03-2016 05:59 PM

This is above my pay grade, time for Dr. J-Mech.:beerchug:

J-Mech 10-03-2016 06:11 PM

Hello Mr. Miller and welcome to the forum!

We do not have a section for the Lo-Boy tractors so we use the "General Talk" area. I moved your thread to the proper place.

As far as the trans popping out of gear, it likely has a worn shift fork on the 1st/rev slider. Either that or the edges are wore off the sliding gear because of the clutch issue. (See below.) It is also possible that the detent on the shift shaft is not working.... You will have to take the trans apart to fix it no matter which issue it is. Not a simple job.