Only Cub Cadets

PLEASE PATRONIZE OUR SPONSORS!

CC Speciaalties R. F. Houtz and Sons

Patton Acres IH Cub Cadet Parts

Cub Cadet Parts & Service

If you would like to help maintain this site & enhance it, feel free to donate whatever amount you would like to!

Attention Folks we have a new owner!
Greg Rozar AKA- CubDieselFan

Go Back   Only Cub Cadets > Welcome to OCC > Welcome to OnlyCubCadets

Notices

Old 10-01-2017, 10:43 PM

Default Barn find 1811

Gents, I have been fighting with my cheap Troy Bilt mower for almost 20 years and I'm sick of it. I decided I need a real tractor. A friend of mine has an 1811 model that was parked 11 years ago in a dry barn. I saw it, and other than a lot of dust it looks fine (no rust). His grandmother bought it new in 1986. It was parked when they couldn't get it to start and they figured it was time for a replacement. My friend says it was well maintained.

What do ya'll say I bring this thing home, get it running and shine it up? I can have it for free, but how much is an old 1811 worth? I don't want to spend more time and money than is reasonable. I can do everything but machine work myself. I have the PDF user and service manuals.

Any advice for a cadet rookie?
Old 10-02-2017, 06:32 AM
Administrator

First, welcome to OCC.....

Quote:
I can have it for free,
ANY MONEY you put into this tractor will be well spent.

CC Models: 100, 105, 1450, 782, (2) 784, & 2072

Buy: Made in the USA
Old 10-02-2017, 07:20 AM
Grand Member

Welcome to OCC. The 1811 is a great model and well worth whatever money you spend on it. The Mag 18 engine had governor problems so the first thing you need to do is remove the oil fill cap and look inside with a flashlight to make sure the governor is still in place, if you can see the gear through the hole you're good to go. There is a service bulletin on the repair to prevent the failure and it's a pretty easy fix. Start a thread in the CCC gt section and we'll be glad to help.
1211 Dual Stick